Ytria logo DOCUMENTATION
⚠ This page requires javascript enabled in browser
scanEZ / Features / Deletion Stubs

 

A deletion stub simply means that a document has been deleted. The stub is a way for Lotus Notes to "remember" that a document has been deleted from the database. The deletion stub itself, does not contain document information.

In scanEZ the deletion stubs are organized by form name.



Deleting deletion stubs with scanEZ is as simple as a point and click: select the stubs and press Delete (or right-click > Delete).

The Deletion Stub panel



When the Deletion Stubs category is highlighted in the Selection Tree you will see the Deletion Stubs panel on the right-hand side of scanEZ.


What to Search?

  • All Deleted Notes: This is the default option. When this is selected all design element and document deletion stubs are displayed.
  • Only Deleted Documents: When this is selected scanEZ will only search for document deletions stubs.
  • Only Deleted Designs: When this is selected scanEZ will only search for design element deletions stubs.

Retrieval Options
  • Regular Search (default): This option is usually the fastest way for scanEZ to retrieve a database's deletion stubs. However in rare instances, some deletion stubs will not be found using this method. Ytria's testing found that the problem of Regular Searches not finding all deletion stubs is only mostly prone to occur when looking at local names.nsf databases.
  • Regular Search plus Count: For databases with very large numbers of deletion stubs, this option can sometimes speed up the retrieval of deletion stub information.
  • Full Scan: This option uses a considerably slower method for retrieval but will show all deletions stubs in all instances.

If you click on an individual deletion stub in the Selection Tree, the following panel is displayed:


The Deletion Stub panel gives the following information:
  • UNID
  • NoteID
  • Last Modification Time (In this File)
  • Creation Time (Initially)
  • Last Modification Time (Initially)
  • Modification Sequence Nb:
  • Deletion stub lifetime setting (days)
  • Available for deletion on (date)
  • Remaining life of deletion stub (days)

Stubs for soft deletions

scanEZ version 10.0 introduced support for soft deletion management. Soft deleted documents differ from conventionally deleted document in that they retain document data and can easily be recovered. Soft deletion stubs will appear in their own sub-category under Deletion Stubs in scanEZ's Selection Tree.

Contextual menu options for deletion stubs

  • Delete all documents in Category: This option is only available when the top-level Deletion Stubs category is highlighted in the Selection Tree. It allows you to quickly delete all of a database's deletion stubs.
  • Search For Deletion Stub: This lets you search for a deletion stub using any of the following criteria: UNID; NoteID; Deletion Time (In This File); Deletion Time (Official); Creation Time (Initially). Note: The Search For Deletion Stub option is only available after you've expanded the Deletion Stubs category in the Selection Tree.
  • Deletion Stub Explorer: This option will open up the Deletion Stub Explorer grid.
  • Export to File...: This lets you export deletion stub information to either an HTML or pre-formatted text file.
  • Hard Delete (for soft deletions only): This option will remove any document data retained in a soft deletion stub and transform it into a regular deletion stub.
  • Restore (for soft deletions only): This option allows you to restore a soft deleted document.

The right-click contextual menu for soft deletion stubs

How to recover a deleted document

The only way to restore a deleted document is to obtain a replicate copy during the next replication cycle. (Soft deleted documents are of course a different matter--they retain document data and can be easily restored).

This can be accomplished by deleting the deletion stub itself, however this will only work if the document still exists on some other replication database. If a replication cycle occurs before you can delete the deletion stub, it will delete the document instead of providing a replicate copy.

Note

Deletion stubs are a common source of confusion, even for highly competent Lotus Notes professionals. One of the most common misconceptions surrounding deletion stubs is their lifetime setting. Many falsely believe that the lifetime of a deletion stub is 1/3 of the Remove documents not modified in the last X days setting. In reality that setting and the deletion stub lifetime will always be equal.


For further reading on this topic, please see the following IBM technical documents:

How Does Purging of Documents Occur.

Q&As About Replication Purge Intervals and Cutoff Dates.


Tip

Use the Deletion Stub Explorer for an in-depth, sortable listing of all the deletion stubs in you database. You can find this feature by clicking Tools>Deletion Stub Explorer.